No. 22 Florida State beats Clemson 80-72

BRENT KALLESTAD Associated Press Published:

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (AP) -- Michael Snaer scored a career-high 23 points to lead No. 22 Florida State to an 80-72 victory over Clemson on Sunday.

Bernard James added 13 points and 11 rebounds for his seventh double-double of the season while Xavier Gibson had 13 points for Florida State, which had five players finish in double figures.

The Seminoles (21-9, 12-4) finished third in the Atlantic Coast Conference behind No. 6 North Carolina and No. 4 Duke and have a first-round bye in the league tournament that begins Thursday.

Ian Miller, whose 3-pointer at the buzzer gave the Seminoles a 63-60 win at Virginia on Thursday, added 11 points and Luke Loucks had 10, including three critical free throws over the final 18 seconds.

The 6-foot-10 James, who was ejected in the Virginia game for kicking the Cavaliers' Joe Harris, had six offensive rebounds and three blocked shots.

K.J. McDaniels and Andre Young scored 16 points each for Clemson (16-14, 8-8), which pulled within 75-72 with 30 seconds left on two free throws by McDaniels, but Florida State made five of six free throws over the final 28 seconds to hang on.

Devin Booker had 10 points and 10 rebounds for Clemson, which had won five of six.

The Seminoles went 11-3 in the ACC after losing 79-59 at Clemson in the conference opener for both on Jan. 7.This time it appeared they were on the way to a lopsided win, holding on to a 16-point halftime lead nearly 6 minutes into the second half.

Snaer was perfect in four tries from 3-point range in the first half when Florida State shot 64 percent, including 8 of 11 from 3-point distance, in building a 49-33 halftime lead. Snaer's fifth 3-pointer with 5:24 left pushed the junior over the 1,000-point mark and gave the Seminoles a 69-58 lead.

The 12-4 finish in ACC play matches Florida State's best. The Seminoles were 12-4 in 1992-93 with a lineup that featured four NBA first-round draft picks: Sam Cassell, Doug Edwards, Seminole career scoring leader Bob Sura and point guard Charlie Ward, who later that year captured the Heisman Trophy while leading his team to a national championship in football.