KSP names 'civilian employee of the year'

State Journal Staff Report Published:

Kentucky State Police named Frankfort worker Bruce Olin “Civilian Employee of the Year” Monday in a ceremony at Capital Plaza Hotel.

Olin, who was a state trooper for 33 years, now works as a program coordinator in public affairs at KSP headquarters in Frankfort.

He also serves as state coordinator for the D.A.R.E. program.

When funding for the program was threatened last year, Olin developed a contingency plan to keep it going and convinced the original sponsor not to take away funding. He eventually got the national D.A.R.E. program to give them a four-year extension.

A native of Pikeville, Olin now lives in Crestwood.

Other Frankfort employees to receive awards were:
Houston White, Police Telecommunicator II: Police Communications Support Award
Lisa Miller, Administrative Specialist III, Supply Branch: Clerical Support Service Award
Susan Robinson, Forensic Scientist Specialist II: Forensic Services Support Award 
Katrina Featherston, Forensic Laboratory Supervisor: Forensic Services Support Award
Laura Monroe, Administrative Specialist III, Program Support Branch: Commercial Vehicle Support Award
Jimmy Carey, Law Enforcement Training Instructor II: Administrative Support Service Award
Pam Hamrick, Internal Policy Analyst II, Financial & Grants Management Branch: Administrative Support Service Award
Misty Moore, Program Coordinator, Criminal Identification & Records Branch: Administrative Support Supervisor Award
Fred Crane, Forensic Latent Fingerprint Analyst III: Scientific Support Service Award
Ruth Sudduth, Administrative Specialist II, Electronic Crimes Branch: Computer Technology Technical Support Award
Steven Rodgers, Maintenance Superintendent II, Criminal Identification & Records Branch: Records Technical Support Service Award
Larry Yates, Network Analyst III, Communications & Computer Technologies Branch: Communications Technical Support Award
Jerry Ellis Jr., Fleet Service Manager, Supply Branch: Properties Management & Supply Technical Support Service Award

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.