Owen Co. printer gets governor's award

1 of 9 honored for art each year

State Journal staff report Published:

Gray Zeitz, 62, who has been printing high-quality books and poetry from Larkspur Press in Owen County since 1974, was presented with the 2012 Artist Award from Gov. Steve Beshear.

Zeitz sets type by hand and uses antique presses that are difficult to come by these days.

He was one of nine recipients of the 2012 Governor’s Awards in the Arts, the state’s highest achievement in the arts, who were recognized during a ceremony Tuesday in the Capitol Rotunda.

Other recipients and their awards were:

>Milner Award – William G. Francis, Prestonsburg

>National Award – Bobbie Ann Mason, Lawrenceburg

>Business Award – UK HealthCare Arts in HealthCare Program, Lexington

>Community Arts Award – Latitude Artist Community, Lexington

>Education Award – Christina Hartke Towell, Morehead

>Folk Heritage Award – Leona Waddell, Cecilia

>Government Award – U.S. Rep. John Yarmuth, Louisville

>Media Award – Jeffrey Lee Puckett, Louisville

The awards are coordinated by the Kentucky Arts Council. Nominations are accepted annually from the public.

The deadline for 2013 is Nov. 1, 2012.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.