Rotary News


Here’s news from the Frankfort Rotary Club’s June meetings. The club meets each Wednesday, 11:45 a.m.-1 p.m., at the Capital Plaza Hotel. Membership is by invitation and sponsorship of a current club member.


>Dr. E. Terry Magel, president of the Emergency Community Food Pantry of Franklin County, talked about the food pantry’s growing needs.

>A. Lee Meyer, extension specialist/professor in sustainable agriculture and agricultural economics at the University of Kentucky, talked about sustainable agriculture.

>Dr. Connie White talked about the Cancer Prevention Study – 3 (CPS-3), the American Cancer Society’s Epidemiology Research Program. The program’s goal is to enroll at least 300,000 adult men and women between the ages of 30 and 65 from various racial and ethnic backgrounds across the United States, to better understand how to prevent cancer.


Since June’s meeting was the final one of the year, new officers were installed and awards given.


>$1,500 scholarships were awarded from the Rotary Foundation to each of the following four students: Ashley Copas, Franklin County High School; Pam Schwartz, Frankfort High School; Laura Wooldridge, Western Hills High School and Destiny Rancher, Thorn Hill Learning Center.

>Robert Sell, Western Hills High School, received the $1,000 math/science scholarship sponsored by Drs. Burch, Renshaw and Wix of Burch Dental.


>The following non-Rotarians received Presidential Citations for their contribution to Rotary: Dr. Stephen Wix, Dave Pike, Steve Fry, Libby Anderson and Teresa Hockensmith.

>The following Rotarians received a Presidential Citation for their contribution to Rotary: Clay Hulette, Polly Green, Tom Braun, Bob Bullock, Don Dampier, Steve Dooley, Doug Howard, Ann Maenza, Carol Palmore, Sherill Smith and Kit Walden.

>Service Above Self awards were presented to Ed Dance, Polly Green, Richard Boyer, Chuck Dickinson, Don Dykman, Jim Richardson, Lee Troutwine and Jim Wolcott.

>Officers for the 2012-13 year were installed: Charles Geveden, president; Dave Steele, vice president; John Avent, secretary/treasurer; Joe Passalaqua, director of club service; Nathaniel Bebe, director of community service; Presley Winner, director of vocational service; Sellus Wilder, director of new generations; Brenda Rice, director of international service; Dudley Ellis, director of public relations; Randy Roberts, sergeant-at-arms; Christina Harrison, advisory director and Paula Rarden, executive secretary.


>Rotarian Don Dykman was installed as District Governor for Rotary District 6710. Dykman is the 12th district governor from the Frankfort Rotary Club, more than any other Rotary club in Kentucky. The installation took place at a special Thursday, June 21 dinner meeting.

During his year as governor, he will visit all 58 clubs in District 6710 located in central and west Kentucky. He will carry the theme and mission of Rotary International to these clubs, and he will talk about his plans on growing membership in Rotary and giving to the club’s Foundation.

>Charles Geveden received a one-year pin for perfect attendance.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.