Around the Town


Roberts graduates from EKU
Alyssa Morgan Roberts received a bachelor’s degree May 10 from Eastern Kentucky University with a double major in finance and risk management insurance.
Roberts is a 2010 graduate of Franklin County High School.
While at EKU Roberts was treasurer, campus activities director and recruitment party head for the Chi Omega sorority and was secretary of the EKU chapter of Gamma Iota Sigma Fraternity for risk management and insurance majors.
She graduated on the Dean’s List and has been hired by the Cincinnati, Ohio office of Assured Neace Lukens, ranked in the top 50 largest insurance agencies in the United States.
Roberts is the daughter of Phil Roberts and Leslie and René True.

Shaver graduates
from Georgetown

Taylor Wesley Shaver of Shelbyville recently graduated from Georgetown College with a degree in political science. He was named to the Spring 2014 Dean’s List.
Shaver is the son of Robert and Theresa Shaver of Shelbyville and the grandson of David and Mary Sanderson of Frankfort.

Watson graduates
from basic training

U.S. Army, PFC Brittany Lynn Watson graduated from basic military training at Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri.
Watson completed an intensive, 10-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Army core values, physical fitness and basic warfare principles and skills. She is continuing her advanced individual training as a paralegal at Fort Lee, Virginia. Following advanced individual training Watson will report to her permanent duty station located in Hawaii.
Watson is the daughter of David and Lori Shaw of Frankfort. She is a 2011 graduate of Franklin County High School.

Local students
graduate from WKU

Ten students from Frankfort and three from Lawrenceburg received degrees during Western Kentucky University’s spring 2014 commencement ceremony May 14.
Frankfort: Jennifer L. Anderson, Bryce K. Andrews, Neil B. Cavanah, Olivia A. Estill, Andrew M. Finnell, Madelyn G. Gates, Taylor S. Graham, Anna M. Mantooth, Caitlin S. Webster and Catherine C. Wilson.
Lawrenceburg: Anne-Marie M. Detherage, Aaron M. Graves and Beau B. Swisher.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.