Recent graduates receive scholarships


Recent graduates from Western Hills High School and Franklin County High School have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). 

To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

The students are Evan Moore, Kerby Standifer, Camry Varney and Hayley Webber of Western Hills, and Mary Grace Amato and Kathryn Payne of Franklin County.

These students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. If they keep their grades up in college, they will have $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree.

The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.