McDonald's wins Minor League title

State Journal Staff Report Published:

It took two games, but McDonald's won the Minor League baseball tournament Thursday night at East Frankfort Park.

McDonald's was the winners bracket champion but fell behind early to Penn Station Subs in Thursday's first game and eventually lost 8-4.

That forced a second game, which McDonald's won 6-2 to clinch the tournament championship.

Penn Station picked up three runs in the top of the first inning in Thursday's first game and never trailed. Drew Farley, Logan Crum and Jordan Dean all singled for Penn Station in the first inning, and Kyle Scott hit a double.

The fifth inning proved to be the big inning for Penn Station as the team scored five runs for an 8-0 lead on singles by Farley, Crum, Scott, Justin Thompson and Jason Johnson, and doubles by Dean and Gary Kail.

McDonald's scored all its runs in the sixth inning with a double by Eric Meyer, singles by Cole Roberts, Zachary Marshall and Jordan Courtney, a walk and a hit batsman.

For more on this story, see the latest State Journal.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.