Capital Classic set for Thursday at FCC


The 48th annual Capital Classic Women’s Invitational golf tournament will take place Thursday at Frankfort Country Club with a shotgun start at 9 a.m.

Whitney Miller will be back to defend her title. Among other past champions in the field are Beth Curlin, Anne Combs, Cynthia Powell and Laurie Goodlett.

Franklin County graduates Abby Smith and Abbi Stamper will also be competing. Smith will be a sophomore at Xavier this fall, and Stamper will be a freshman at Murray State.

People who have worked on the tournament this year are Ann French Thomas, Polly Coblin, Curlin, Charlotte Wall, Robin Hearn, Debbie Milton, Jan Sutterlin, Addie Stokley, Jill Burton, Glenna Glass, Marcia Burton, Bonita Fentress, Ann Bradshaw, Kathy Caney, Ellen Moore, John and Jean Vickers, Brian May and staff, Stacey Shelton and staff, Tim Willard and staff, Verna Johnson, Jane Landrum, the ladies who fixed the goodies for breakfast, and Dick Bell.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.