Lesa Hodge leads Juniper Ladies Club by 4 strokes

State Journal Staff Report Published:

Familiar faces topped the Ladies Club Championship leaderboard at Juniper Hill Golf Course on Saturday.

Lesa Hodge (75), Tara Taylor (79) and Elaine Butler (84), who are all three previous Ladies Club championship winners, lead the field in Sunday’s final round.

Hodge, WHHS and FCHS high schools’ girls golf coach, is an eight-time winner of the event who has won six of the last eight years.

Taylor won the championship in 2007, while Butler won it in 2000.

Players tee off today beginning at 7:30 a.m. The three leaders will go off at 10:10 a.m.

Here are the top five scores from each flight after Saturday’s first round of play:

Championship flight

Lesa Hodge (75), Tara Taylor (79), Elaine Butler (84), Aggie Hampton (86), Charlotte Nelson (87) and Donna McNeil (87).

First flight

Shirley Wilhoite (91), Barbara Reynolds (92), Sandra Shelton (93), Pam Rhodes (93) and Debbie Wash (93).

Second flight

Karen Liebman (92), Susan Goins (92), Charlotte Pyles (93), Barbara Booze (95) and Teresa Coleman (98).

Third flight

Ashley Stevens (102), Lisa Brewer (106), Barbara Terrell (107), Patty Conway (108) and Cathy Kays (108).

Fourth flight

Mary Rhodes (108), Donna Grimes (110), Melinda Holbert (111), Emily Stevens (114), Jenny Anglin (114) and Jill LeMaster (114).

Fifth flight (9 holes)

Connie Sheets (59), Libby Courtney (59), Betty Shipp (63), Sharon Edwards (64) and Allison Harrod (65).

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.