Frankfort sports notebook


All-district softball
team named

 The regular season all-district softball team for the 41st District was named at the conclusion of the district tournament last week.
Named to the team were Franklin County’s Kara Howard, Sydney Wiard and Whitney Edwards; Western Hills’ Destiny Hyatt, Taylor Slade and Torey Hawkins; Frankfort High’s Alyssa Buffin, BriAnna Burbridge and Emma Burke; and Woodford County’s Bethany Todd, Caitlin Ferguson and Keely Moussette.

Howard earns
all-conference honors

Marcus Howard, a graduate of Western Hills High School and currently an Indiana University Southeast (IUS) centerfielder, has received the all-conference Gold Glove award for the second consecutive year.
Howard and his teammates, pitcher Evan Bickett and second baseman Frank Pluskota, were also named to the all-conference first team. 
Howard finished the season batting in the lead-off spot, with 169 at-bats, averaging .355 with 34 runs, 11 doubles, two triples and 27 RBI. Howard maintained a .425 on-base percentage and had 14 stolen bases out of 17 attempts. A mid-season hamstring injury kept him sidelined for a few weeks of the season. 
IUS finished the season 32-23, losing in the conference tournament championship to Point Park University, 3-1. Howard will return to IUS in the fall for his senior year.   

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.