Wilkins makes first-round lead stand up

By Linda Younkin Published:

There were some expectations, some nerves, some good holes and some bad Sunday for Nick Wilkins.

At the end there was the City Championship trophy.

Wilkins, a senior-to-be at Western Hills, won the tournament at Juniper Hill Golf Course by two shots over Jon Tandy.

Wilkins shot 64 in the opening round Saturday to lead by three shots coming into Sunday’s round.

“I was pretty much shaking the whole time,” he said about Sunday’s round. “I was really nervous, but I was trying to hang in there.”

That didn’t stop him from playing well.

“I think I had a six-shot lead at the turn,” Wilkins said. “All I was thinking about was trying to build it.

“It seemed like I’d have a few good holes and then a couple of bad ones. It kept going back and forth.

“I knew I was in the lead, and I wanted to make par. That was my goal.”

Wilkins had a couple of hiccups on the back nine, taking a double bogey on No. 14 and a triple bogey on No. 16, but he bounced back by taking par on the next holes.

“I tried to put them in the back of my mind,” he said. “I knew I still had the lead, and I needed to keep going and make two solid pars.”

Besides Wilkins, Drew Hockensmith and Michael Brown both shot under par Saturday.

Hockensmith, a graduate of Anderson County High School who played golf at Georgetown College, went 67-76 in the tournament to finish in a tie for third with Brown.

Brown, who played golf at Morehead State, shot 69-74.

Tandy followed the 73 he shot Saturday with a 66 Sunday, the only under-par round of the day.
Wilkins’ 64 is the best tournament round he’s shot at Juniper. He finished second in the men’s club championship and fifth in the Governor’s Open last year.

His lowest round at Juniper is 63, which he shot over the winter.

“I pretty much play every day,” Wilkins said, “a lot of different tournaments, trying to get better.”

Rick Harp, the defending champion, shot 144 (73-71) to claim the senior championship for golfers 55 or older.

Here are the top finishes in each flight.

Championship Flight
1. Nick Wilkins, 137 (64-73); 2. Jon Tandy, 139 (73-66); 3. Drew Hockensmith, 143 (67-76); 3. Michael Brown, 143 (69-74); 5. Rick Harp, 144 (73-71); 6. Doug Hudson, 147 (74-73); 7. Jacob Cook, 148 (73-75); 8. Larry Grasch, 149 (75-74); 8. David Dean, 149 (76-73).

First Flight
1. David Hicks, 146 (74-72); 2. BJ Hurst, 149 (77-72); 3. Jack Conway, 151 (73-78); 4. Sean Rodgers, 152 (75-77); 5. Donnie Wainscott, 153 (76-77); 5. Bert White, 153 (78-75).

Second Flight
1. Lee Rarden, 149 (77-72); 2. Dave Herrera 154 (76-78); 2. Tom Riffe, 154 (79-75); 4. Chris Brooms, 157 (77-80); 4. Scott Tippett, 157 (80-77); 6. Marty Young, 159 (81-78).

Third Flight
1. Ricky Young, 162 (79-83); 2. Lanny Walls, 163 (83-80); 3. Bob Detwiler 164 (81-83); 4. Neville White, 165 (82-83); 5. Steve Beers, 166 (84-82); 6. Kat Veerasethakul, 167 (84-83); 6. Raymond Casey, 167 (88-79).

Fourth Flight
1. Jason Murphy, 162 (84-78); 2. Bob Sharfe, 167 (84-83); 3. Keith McNeil, 169 (81-88).
Net: 1. Steve Redmon, 132; 2. Ricky May, 134; 3. Jimmy Harrod, 135.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.