The Frankfort/Franklin County Branch of the NAACP is sponsoring its annual Freedom Fund Scholarship Banquet at 5:30 p.m. Saturday, June 29, at the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History, 100 W. Broadway St. 

The theme is “Voting! Critical to our survival!” The keynote speaker will be state Rep. Charles Booker — District 43.  

The Freedom Fund Scholarship Banquet is the branch’s way of reinvesting in the Frankfort and Franklin County community. The money raised is used to support youth scholarships and community programming. We have awarded 32 scholarships to Frankfort and Franklin County graduating seniors since our scholarship program began in 2009. This year’s scholarship winners are Samareah E. Levarity, Franklin County High School; Madeline A. Crescitelli, Frankfort High School; and Daniela Solis Palacios, Western Hills High School.

The branch partners with a number of other civic groups and sponsors community programming in the areas of voter registration, voter mobilization, education, housing and health awareness. At the banquet, the branch recognizes individuals and organizations for their outstanding service to the Frankfort and Franklin County community. 

The branch has recognized over 73 individuals and organizations for their community service throughout the last 14 years.

The community service honorees for 2019 are: 

• “President’s Award” — Dr. M. Christopher Brown II, President of Kentucky State University

• “Outstanding Man of the Year” — Damon Greene

• “Outstanding Woman of the Year” — Cathy Thomas

• “Outstanding Citizen of the Year” — Ronnie Dunn

• “Outstanding Community Service Award” — ACCESS Soup Kitchen and Men’s Shelter

Tickets are available from NAACP branch members. All tickets must be purchased in advance. For questions, call Maria Bush 502-682-2625 or Ramona Griffin 502-695-2899.

Recommended for you

Load comments