LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) — Three Kentucky students are among the 161 high school seniors included in the Presidential Scholars.

The students are recognized for accomplishments in academics, the arts and career and technical education fields, the U.S. Department of Education said in a news release.

The Kentucky students are Megan Rose Johnston of Boyle County High School, Raymond Micheal Suo of duPont Manual Magnet High School and Kathleen Criner of Paducah Tilghman High School.

Scholars are selected annually based on academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts and evidence of community service, leadership and commitment to high ideals, the release said.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was created in 1964. The Presidential Scholars Class of 2020 will be recognized this summer, as public health circumstances permit.

Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.

Recommended for you

Load comments

Thank you for reading!

Please purchase an Enhanced Subscription to continue reading.Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase an Enhanced Subscription to continue reading.