Frankfort and Franklin County are soon to see lots of new faces take elected office, but when exactly will that happen?

The answer to this reader-submitted question varies across the different elected bodies.

For example, though most officials will not begin their tenure until after the new year, the new Property Valuation Administrator Kellie Lang is set to be sworn in Monday at the PVA office on West Main Street.

Friday will be the last day for current PVA Tom Gatewood, who said he was not aware of the early changeover until he was appointed to the office in 2017 by Governor Matt Bevin.

“For some reason, the PVA is sworn in sooner than in county governments (and others),” Gatewood told The State Journal.

On the other hand, newly elected Frankfort city commissioners’ first day in office will also be marked by the first day of the new year. The three outgoing commissioners, Lynn Bowers, Tommy Haynes and Robert Roach, will all conclude their time as commissioners on Dec. 31. Commissioners-elect John Sower, Katrisha Waldridge and Eric Whisman will enter office effective Jan. 1, City Clerk Chermie Maxwell said in an email to The State Journal.

The swearing in process is a bit more complex. Though dates are not set in stone yet, Mayor Bill May typically swears in candidates prior to the city’s December work session — which is on Dec. 1. And, an official swearing-in ceremony will take place after the new year. Maxwell said that ceremony is tentatively scheduled for Jan. 3, but also that she is currently working with May on establishing the dates.

Another official that will take office on New Year’s Day is 56th Houst District Rep.-elect Joe Graviss, who will assume the seat of fellow Democrat James Kay, D-Versailles. Kay chose not to seek reelection and instead sought the position of Woodford County judge-executive.

In the county, incoming Magistrates Sherry Sebastian, J.W. Blackburn and Michael Mueller — elected to serve the county’s 1st, 2nd and 3rd districts, respectively — will take office on Jan. 7. State law provides that the magistrates take their oath of office on the first Monday of the new term year, Fiscal Court Clerk Tambra Harrod said in an email.

Outgoing magistrates Michael Turner’s, Fred Goins’ and Don Sturgeon’s terms will expire at the end of Jan. 6, Franklin County Attorney Rick Sparks added.

Each of the two local school boards have the same dates for the end and beginning of members’ terms.

On the Frankfort Independent Schools Board of Education, newly elected members David Garnett and Tasha Box Jones will take their oaths on Jan. 7 at the first FIS board meeting of the year, said Libby Marshall, one of two outgoing board members. Marshall, who did not seek reelection, and Margaret Tillman, who was defeated in the general election, will finish their terms after the Dec. 17 board meeting.

The one changeover on Franklin County Schools’ board will occur on the same dates. Larry Perkins will fill the seat of current FCS board chair Jennifer Grisham-Brown, who chose not to seek reelection. Grisham-Brown will conclude her term after a board meeting on Dec. 17, while Perkins will take his oath on Jan. 7.

Recommended for you

Load comments

Thank you for reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.